Understanding RSA and its Expiry Period

In Australia, Responsible Service of Alcohol (or RSA) is a certificate that may be required to work in many professions. It is a special certificate that demonstrates that you possess the knowledge and skills necessary to serve alcohol responsibly. To receive the RSA certificate, individuals must complete an approved Responsible Service of Alcohol course.

How Long Does RSA Last?

The Responsible Service of Alcohol certificate is valid for a period of 5 years from the date of issue. After 5 years, the certificate holders need to complete the refresher course to renew the RSA certificate.

Is Refresher Course Compulsory?

Yes, it is compulsory to take RSA refresher every 5 years to keep the certificate active. This is because as per the law, it is some extent the responsibility of an employee or an individual to increase their awareness about the impact of alcohol consumption and serve it responsibly.

Advantages of Refresher Course

  • Increased Awareness: A refresher course increases the knowledge and awareness of the participants on alcohol consumption.
  • Updated Content: Each refresher course is updated with the latest laws and regulations regarding drinking, which can help participants stay on the right side of the law.
  • Easy and Quick: The refresher course is quick and easy, and helps in maintaining the validity of the RSA certificate.


The RSA certificate is valid for 5 years from the date of issue and needs to be renewed after the expiry of this period. The RSA refresher course helps in renewing the certificate and also provides an opportunity for people working in professions, where Responsible Service of Alcohol is required to stay updated with the latest regulations. It is important to take the refresher course to keep the RSA certificate active.

How often should I renew my RSA?

That depends on the policy set forth by your employer. Generally, RSA renewals are done on an annual or biennial basis, but companies may also require more frequent renewals for certain roles. Additionally, some companies may require RSA holders to pass a proficiency test in order to renew their RSA. Check with your employer to determine how often you need to renew your RSA.

How long is the RSA validity period?

The RSA validity period typically varies according to the issuing certificate authority, but most certificates are issued with an expiration date of 2-3 years. After this the certificate may need to be replaced, renewed or updated. You should check with your local issuing authority for specific details.

How often do I need to renew my RSA?

It depends on the state in which you are located. RSA certifications usually need to be renewed every three years. However, some states have different laws in place, so it’s best to check with your local RSA licensing body to find out the exact requirements in your area.

How long is a RSA certificate valid for?

A RSA certificate is usually valid for one to three years. However, specific validity periods vary depending on the provider. It is important for certificate holders to check with their local RSA licensing body to make sure that their certificate is up to date.

Website | + posts
Please gamble responsibly and only bet what you can afford to lose. Betting sites have a number of tools to help you to stay in control such as deposit limits and time outs. Offers listed on Ibebet are subject to change. . Free bets and casino offers are subject to terms and conditions, please check these thoroughly before taking part in a promotion. © Copyright 2023 Ibebet Australia