The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the best professional cricket tournaments in the world. It features teams and players from India, playing in a thrilling format.

In each season, individual players make achievements. One of them is scoring three or more centuries (100 or more runs) in one IPL season. That’s a great level of consistency!

This article explores the top five batsmen who have achieved this feat. It looks at who they are, how many centuries they scored, and highlights from each player’s Century-filled IPL season.

Let’s start!

List of Most Centuries by a Batsman in a Single IPL Season

Annually, IPL supporters anticipate seeing kung-fu batting from the top players of different teams. Unforgettable performances in the IPL have brought about multiple centuries!

Let’s observe who achieved the top five and their milestones:

  • Name 1 and their milestone
  • Name 2 and their milestone
  • Name 3 and their milestone
  • Name 4 and their milestone
  • Name 5 and their milestone

Virat Kohli – 4 centuries

Virat Kohli achieved an incredible feat during IPL 2016 with four centuries, the most by any batsman in a single season. Gujarat Lions, Kings XI Punjab, and Delhi Daredevils were all victims to his impressive innings. He earned the Orange Cap due to his record-breaking performance, becoming the only batsman to break the 700 run barrier.

Kohli smashed several records including;

  • most runs scored in a single tournament (973 runs)
  • most fifty plus scores (7)
  • joint highest innings score of 109 not out
  • first non-foreigner cricketer to hit four centuries in a season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore released limited edition t-shirts with the hashtag #PlayBold to honor their captain’s contribution to the sport’s history.

Kohli’s performance has pushed teams around the world to aim higher. His IPL 2016 achievement is etched into historical record books as one of the greatest cricketing feats ever seen.

Chris Gayle – 3 centuries

Chris Gayle, a West Indian opening batsman, holds the record of the highest number of centuries in a single IPL season. In 2009, he scored 127 runs off 62 balls against Maharashtra Indians. Then in 2010, he accomplished an unbeaten 92-run innings against Kolkata Knight Riders. Lastly, he made 104 runs against Mumbai Indians in 2011.

Altogether, Gayle has six centuries in his entire IPL career, and three of those occurred in that particular season. This is more than any other batsman in a single IPL season. Virat Kohli follows him on the list with two centuries in the 2016 season. Suresh Raina and AB de Villiers have one century each for 2014 and 2015 respectively. Lastly, Rohit Sharma has two centuries from IPL 2018.

David Warner – 3 centuries

In 2017, David Warner did something incredible. He became the first batsman in IPL history to score 3 centuries in a single season – for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). His total runs for the season were 848 from 14 innings at an average of 60.57 and a strike rate of 141.81. He had 3 centuries and 6 half-centuries. His highest score was a whopping 126 against Hyderabad Deccan Chargers. Then he scored 109* and 100* against Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiant. This five-wicket win after a historic 209 run chase was a huge success for SRH.

At the end of the 10th edition, David Warner was also awarded the ‘Orange Cap’. He achieved the most number of runs throughout IPL 2017. With an impressive strike rate of 141.81, David Warner made many records and milestones during IPL 2017. This tournament was a great success for ‘The Great SRH’ team led by Kane Williamson. It was their first title since 2014 and they had 3 consecutive wins from 2016 to 2017.

AB de Villiers – 3 centuries

AB de Villiers, a South African cricketer, is admired for his records and smashing bowlers. In the 2006-07 IPL season, he achieved something extraordinary – he scored three centuries for Royal Challengers Bangalore! His contribution with an average of 52 and a strike rate of 186.5 was the saving grace for RCB who finished last on the points table.

He kicked off this feat with a century against Mumbai Indians in April 2006, batting with Rahul Dravid for the fourth wicket and ending with 104 from 67 balls, including nine 4s and four 6s. In May, he scored another unbeaten century against Rajasthan Royals, scoring 104 from 62 deliveries with eight 4s and six 6s – helping RCB chase down a massive 218-run target.

And to top it off, he scored 108 not out from 66 balls against Kings XI Punjab – 11 4s and five 6s! A sensational third century in one IPL season!

Rohit Sharma – 3 centuries

Rohit Sharma holds the record for most centuries scored in a single IPL season. In 2013, he scored three centuries in thirteen games. He has scored three more centuries and five half-centuries since then. His dominance during that season helped Mumbai Indians become champions twice (2013 and 2015).

He scored 538 runs with an average of 53.80 and a strike rate of 137.90. His highest score of 109 not out was against Kolkata Knight Riders. He was awarded the ‘Most Valuable Player’ trophy and is still considered one of the best IPL batsmen ever.


Virat Kohli holds the record for most centuries in an IPL season. But, other batsmen have made centuries too! These batsmen prove that dedication and determination can take you far. They show us that anything is possible with the right motivation.

Making a century in cricket is not easy. But, it’s a great accomplishment. Virat Kohli currently holds the record for most centuries made in an IPL season. Chris Gayle, David Warner, Rohit Sharma, and Shikhar Dhawan are close runners-up with multiple hundreds scored across one or more seasons. These batsmen are an inspiration to cricket fans around the world.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: Who has the most centuries in a single IPL season?

A1: Virat Kohli holds the record for the most centuries in a single IPL season, with four centuries in the 2016 IPL season.

Q2: Who is the second highest century maker in a single IPL season?

A2: Chris Gayle is the second highest century maker in a single IPL season, with three centuries in the 2012 IPL season.

Q3: How many centuries have been scored in a single IPL season?

A3: A total of seven centuries have been scored in a single IPL season. Virat Kohli holds the record for the most centuries in a single IPL season, with four centuries in the 2016 IPL season.

Read More
July 30, 2023
July 30, 2023
July 30, 2023
150% up to ₹25,000 + 25 Free Spins
Double your money: With a 50% first deposit bonus
Deposit ₹1,000 and Play With ₹3,000