The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a cricket tournament that has captivated millions of fans. Every year, teams compete in exciting, engaging matches. Who has taken the most wickets in this 11-year long tournament? This article takes a look at the top 5 players who have achieved great success when it comes to taking wickets in a single IPL season. These five players have proven their bowling prowess by delivering immense success for their teams.

Let’s explore these five prolific wicket-takers:

Top 5 Wicket Takers in a single season of IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been alive for over 10 years now. In this time, several players have taken the most wickets in one season. These record-breakers range from young sensation Jasprit Bumrah to experienced spin wizard Harbhajan Singh.

Here’s a peek into the top five wicket takers in one IPL season:

Lasith Malinga: 2010

Lasith Malinga, the Sri Lankan fast bowler, is a legendary figure in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He has represented Mumbai Indians for many years and captained them in some seasons.

In 2010, he had an amazing season. He took 28 wickets from 14 matches with an incredible economy rate of 7.22 per over. This was the highest tally in a single season in IPL history. He won both the purple cap and the prestigious Player of the Series awards.

Malinga’s strength is his accurate Yorkers, a rare quality among bowlers, making him truly special.

Dwayne Bravo: 2013

Dwayne Bravo, a Trinidadian all-rounder, was the highest wicket-taker in the 2013 IPL season. 32 wickets in 17 games, at an economy rate of 7.08 and bowling average of 16.34. He stunned everyone with his death bowling. Especially his yorkers that made it tough for batsmen!

His best performance came against KXI Punjab. 4 wickets for 22 runs in 4 overs, helping limit KXI to 152. Chennai Super Kings chased it down with one ball remaining. Bravo did it!

Bhuvneshwar Kumar: 2016

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, a right arm Indian cricketer, took the bowling charts by storm in the 2016 edition of the Indian Premier League. He grabbed a total of 23 wickets in 15 matches, contributing to Sunrisers Hyderabad’s 1st championship win.

Sub-continental tracks are known to be favourable for pacers, and this proved true for Bhuvneshwar as he bagged 13 of his 23 wickets while playing away from home.

His best performance came against Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens, where he had figures of 3/15. He was awarded Player of the Match for this match, as KKR scored only 107 runs which Hyderabad easily chased down, winning the match by 8 wickets.

Throughout the season, Bhuvneshwar provided his team with crucial breakthroughs. He removed key players of the opposition teams at opportune times, helping take control of the games.

Amit Mishra: 2011

Amit Mishra – a right-arm leg-break bowler in the IPL – claimed the title of ‘Most Wickets Taken’ in a single season in 2011. He got 28 wickets from 15 matches. This earned him four ‘Man of the Match’ awards and two ‘Purple Caps’. He played for various teams, including Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Daredevils and Kings XI Punjab.

Mishra helped Delhi Daredevils reach the IPL 2011 finals. However, they lost to Chennai Super Kings. He took 6 wickets in 11 matches with an economy rate of 6.24. 7 wickets from 4 games came with Sunrisers Hyderabad. His career best bowling figures were 3/12 and 5/17, both against Kings XI Punjab. This proved his immense talent.

Sunil Narine: 2012

Sunil Narine had an incredible bowling performance in IPL 2012. He debuted that year with Kolkata Knight Riders and stayed with them until 2016. He played a total of 16 matches, 15 of which were league matches and one was a playoff game.

He took 24 wickets with an average of 13.08 and an economy rate of 5.05 runs per over. That made him the best bowler in terms of economic bowling figures that season. He got ‘Player of the Match’ three times and ‘Man of the Series’ honors.

Narine may have improved his bowling action while he was at the MRF Pace Academy, under Dennis Lillee’s guidance. He also created the Carrom Ball delivery. This is generated by flicking your fingers on opposite sides from the gripping position, instead of using a traditional finger spin technique.

Sunil Narine became the 5th top wicket taker in a single season (IPL) till date. He was the most successful bowler and took the most wickets in the tournament’s history till date.


We looked at the best bowling performances in a single season for the IPL. Lasith Malinga took 28 wickets in 16 matches in 2011. Sunil Narine and Amit Mishra shared the record in 2013 with 26 and 24 wickets respectively.

Other bowlers on our list are Dale Steyn, James Faulkner, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Harbhajan Singh.

These figures are based on stats only. Skill, creativity and match awareness are not taken into account. But they do show some extraordinary seasons.

From this, we can see that anyone can be successful at bowling. Bowlers should try to match these amazing results. Hard work and dedication will help them attain exceptional numbers this season!

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: Who has taken the most wickets in a single season of IPL?
A1: Bhuvneshwar Kumar has taken the most wickets in a single season of IPL with 26 wickets in 2017.

Q2: What is the second highest number of wickets taken in a single season of IPL?
A2: The second highest number of wickets taken in a single season of IPL is 25 by Dwayne Bravo in 2013.

Q3: What other players have taken at least 20 wickets in a single season of IPL?
A3: Lasith Malinga (24 wickets in 2011), Amit Mishra (23 wickets in 2011) and Piyush Chawla (21 wickets in 2014) have each taken at least 20 wickets in a single season of IPL.

Read More
July 30, 2023
July 30, 2023
July 30, 2023
150% up to ₹25,000 + 25 Free Spins
Double your money: With a 50% first deposit bonus
Deposit ₹1,000 and Play With ₹3,000